About Us

MR Publishing

Performance Journal
Editor-in-Chief: Moriah Evans
Managing Editor: Rebecca Wender
Senior Editor: Buck Wanner
Editorial Director: Trajal Harrell

Critical Correspondence
Editors: Abigail Levine and Will Rawls


Martita Abril
Racy Brand**
Timothy Garlid
Julie Goldberg
Allison Grissom
Krissy Harris
Tuva Hildebrand Peterson
Sarah Lass
Alice MacDonald
Kayt MacMaster
Liz McAuliffe
Lily Bo Shapiro
Hilary Tanabe*
Stephanie Walker
Rebecca Warzer
Ella Wasserman-Smith
Meg Weeks*

  • *Critical Correspondence
  • **Performance Journal

  • Interns Report to Greer Dworman and Anna Adams Stark

Board of Directors
  • Moira Brennan (December 2011 – present) Program Director, MAP Fund at Creative Capital

  • Barbara Bryan, Executive Director (January 2000 - present) Performing Arts Producer, Manager and Curator

  • Cathy Edwards, President (January 2008 - present) Director of Programming, International Festival of Arts and Ideas (New Haven, CT)

  • Stephen Facey, Vice President (September 2010 - present) Advisor, Preservation and Development, The Cathedral Church of Saint John the Divine

  • Boo Froebel, Treasurer (March 2009 - present) Producer, Lincoln Center Festival

  • Anna Glass Coquillot (December 2011 – present) former Managing Director, 651 Arts

  • Molly Gross (December 2013 – present) Communications Director, The Drawing Center

  • Ishmael Houston-Jones (2003 - 2012; July 2013 - present) Coordinator, Lambent Fellowships in the Arts; Writer; Curator; Performer and choreographer

  • Sarah Michelson (July 2013 - Present) Choreographer; Curator

  • Carla Peterson (2002-2011; Sept 2012 – present) Director of the Maggie Allesee National Center for Choreography

  • Will Rawls (December 2009 - present) Independent choreographer, performer and producer

  • David Sheingold, Secretary (March 2010 - present) Independent consultant providing project development, strategic planning, meeting facilitation and fundraising services for artists and arts organizations

  • Michèle Steinwald (March 2013 – present) Independent dance curator and presenter

  • Dana Whitco (May 2013 – present) Associate Director of the Institute for Performing Arts, Tisch School of the Arts, NYU

  • Guy Yarden, Officer At-Large(1989 - 1991; 1995 - 1997; 2003 - present) Composer; Administrator

Artist Advisory Council
  • niv Acosta
  • Laurie Berg
    Maura Donohue
    Walter Dundervill
    Alex Escalante
    Marjani Forte
    Danielle Goldman
    Joe Levasseur
  • Mariangela Lopez
    Melanie Maar
    Jennifer Miller
    Margaret Paek
    Jill Sigman
    Kathy Westwater
Advisory Board
  • Wendell Beavers
  • David Dorfman
  • Simone Forti
  • Cynthia Hedstrom
  • Bill T. Jones
  • Daniel Lepkoff
  • Mary Overlie
  • Steve Paxton
  • Yvonne Rainer
  • Jim Staley
  • Ian Douglas
  • Alex Escalante
  • Ashley A. Friend
  • Victoria Sendra

join our mailing list

upcoming classes & workshops

see all classes & workshops ›

upcoming performances & events

  • Studies Projects
    November 10, 6:15pm
    Dancer as Agent
    Conceived by Cecilia Roos in partnership with Iréne Hultman
    Panelists include: Hilary Clark and Juliette Mapp
  • Open Performance
    November 11, 7:00pm
    Open Performance
    Moderated by Alex Escalante*
    Karesia Batan || The Physical Plant, Michael DiPietro, Veracity Dance Theatre
  • Movement Research At The Judson Church
    November 17, 8:00pm
    Julia Crockett & Group, Kristopher K.Q. Pourzal, Nora Stephens, Sara Tolosa
see our performances & events ›

movement research feeds